Latter-day Saints Sustain New First Presidency in Solemn Assembly

Solemn Assembly

President Russell M. Nelson was sustained Saturday as prophet, seer, revelator and president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints during a solemn assembly of Church members worldwide on March 31, 2018.

Dallin H. Oaks was sustained as first counselor and Henry B. Eyring as second counselor in the First Presidency — the Church’s highest governing body.

The new First Presidency was named and introduced to the media on January 16, but the Saturday morning session of the Church’s annual general conference, originating from the Conference Center in Salt Lake City, was the first opportunity for Latter-day Saints throughout the world to publicly sustain their new leadership.

Two new members of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles were also announced during the Saturday morning solemn assembly. Elder Gerrit W. Gong and Elder Ulisses Soares were sustained as the newest members of that quorum. They fill the vacancies left by the deaths of President Thomas S. Monson and Elder Robert D. Hales.